Bazooka flow question

utah mason

Jul 10, 2015
utah
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I have a question for you bazooka experts. Look at this flow over the Grizzles. The tubes in the trap were exposed. I think, I read in a past thread that if the tubes were exposed it is scrubbing the box out. The clean out wasn't what I was expecting ( compared to last time I dug in this hole, it was much, much less). Did the hole give out or did I just send the gold further down the river
https://youtu.be/0aH53zKC_9A

Au dave

Aug 5, 2015
Eastern Victoria
Detector(s) used
Home made drop riffle, 'zook' mini prospector, 'zook' sniper
Primary Interest:
Other
I'm no expert ..but IMO it looks like you have too much drop...put the front end in a little deeper and prop up the tail. I have found using my homemade zook it runs better with water 3/4 up the sides on the slickplate and if air gets under the top plate behind the grizzlies it tends to scrub out the trap ...hope this helps

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Tapatalk

Goodyguy

Gold Member
Mar 10, 2007
Arizona
Detector(s) used
Whites TM 808, Whites GMT, Tesoro Lobo Super Traq, Fisher Gold Bug 2, Suction Dredges, Trommels, Gold Vacs, High Bankers, Fluid bed Gold Traps, Rock Crushers, Sluices, Dry Washers, Miller Tables, Rp4
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Appears to have too much angle. (could be optical illusion?)
I see water gushing over the grizzly. (not good)

My advice is try to keep the sluice more level and slightly deeper as the previous post advised.
If the sluice was fairly level and not set at too steep of an angle as it appears in the video then the scouring could be due to too much flow.

* re watched the video and the flow looked good. But the angle looked too steep.
Here is a crude drawing of what a trap looks like at level and at a 45 degree angle.