Need advice - building a fluid bed sluice

DukeArdelis

Greenie
Jan 15, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi, I'm making a fluid bed sluice, you can see the pics of the current state below. I'm making it based on some plans I found here on the forum. I have altered the plans a bit, added a second trap, and a movable flap (or what ever you would call it, I'm not that good with English). It used to be an aluminum road sign.

My main concern right now is the size of the classifier holes. I'm trying to decide to make them 10 mm or 15 mm. I plan on further classifying the material. I'm new to prospecting, and I relay need advice on the subject, I think I covered everything else regarding the sluice, I will have other questions regarding the classifiers, fine gold ect.., but I will post them in new threads.

Thanks.

Sluice_01.jpg

Sluice_02.jpg

Sluice_03.jpg

arizau

Bronze Member
May 2, 2014
AZ
Detector(s) used
Beach High Banker, Sweep Jig, Whippet Dry Washer, Lobo ST, 1/2 width 2 tray Gold Cube, numerous pans, rocker box, and home made fluid bed and stream sluices.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
First, the original bazooka gold trap has only one trap and it works perfectly fine. I'm not sure how a second trap would effect the performance but it probably will not help.

Second, if I were you and making the grizzly out of plate material I would try to fashion it as close to the original as possible eg. I would saw slits* in the plate rather than drill holes. That said, the plate is rigid and any rocks that get stuck in the slits, or holes if you decide to use them, will probably be harder to remove (the original bazooka uses spring steel so they flex a little making it easier to remove stuck rocks).

I also recommend that the tubes that go through the trap be removable/replaceable since you are probably going to have to experiment some with drilled hole placement and the opening sizes until you get it right.

Nice work on what you have done and good luck.