PlugUgly

Tenderfoot
Apr 11, 2019
Leadville CO
Detector(s) used
Garret at Gold
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
OK i am new to prospecting. I am ready to buy my first sluice box, I have watched lots of U tube videos on sluice boxes. I was wondering what works like they are designed.
I was looking at Gold Hog, A52S, I like the idea of not classifying. Also some one told me to go with a Dream Mat ?

If you have you have hard this topic before I am sorry! but I don't want to wast my $$.

So I am asking for recommendations

Thank you
PlugUgly

Huzzah!

Mar 16, 2019
Old Virginny
Detector(s) used
AT MAX
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You allowed to highbank where you go? If so, go buy the Gold Hog Piglet--it's a mini highbanker. I know the setup costs more than a standard sluice, but this is what you'll graduate to once you learn you can't process as quick as you'd like to with a standard sluice--and don't get a cheap pump. Plus, this isn't a giant highbanker that makes you and your prospecting immobile--find a way to carry it around on your back as I have and you'll be able to have a lot more fun which is why you're out there anyways.

But if you can't use a highbanker the A52S is a good one. good luck.

goldog

Sep 25, 2012
Tujunga, CA
Detector(s) used
Bazooka Gold Trap, A-51, Gold Pan
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Buy a name brand that you can afford. The A52 is a good workhorse. It’s big and heavy tho. The GoldHog equipped with all the trimmings is a step up. Various mats are popular. Try to buy one. Not one after another.

Capt Nemo

Bronze Member
Apr 11, 2015
Oshkosh, WI
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
In my case, I just bought 2! Both are Gold Hog Stream Sluices and a powerhead. Then I can use the one sluice similar to the Multi Sluice for cleanup. Couldn't get the GGT Explorer's I wanted.

QNCrazy

Sep 30, 2013
Motherlode, CA
Detector(s) used
Gold Bug Pro