Which Mackirk?

Teris

May 28, 2020
California
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I've read a lot about Angus Mackirk sluices on this site, but not much about which specific one works best (I have read a few comments about some designs being better than others). I'm a beginner and will be sluicing in the San Gabriel River. I'll be hiking a few miles with it. I'd appreciate opinions from those of you who are using AM sluices. Thanks very much!

Goldwasher

Gold Member
May 26, 2009
Sailor Flat, Ca.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
SDC2300, Gold Bug 2 Burlap, fish oil, .35 gallons of water per minute.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've read a lot about Angus Mackirk sluices on this site, but not much about which specific one works best (I have read a few comments about some designs being better than others). I'm a beginner and will be sluicing in the San Gabriel River. I'll be hiking a few miles with it. I'd appreciate opinions from those of you who are using AM sluices. Thanks very much!

I recommend one of the bigger ones. they are really light so don't go small for portabilities sake.

You can run a lot of material through a good sized drop riffle and get great recovery

Try to get on that has at least 10" width in the run of the sluice. Keep in mind the dimension listed is often the overall sluice width including the side wall and bend.

over 30" in length

Gold4Mike

May 10, 2017
Mount Vernon, Washington
Detector(s) used
Angus Mackirk Foreman
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer
Gold Hog Piglet highbanker
Home made slate miller table
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I agree with Goldwasher. AM's are so light, get the biggest that you can find.

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
Primary Interest:
Prospecting