Greenville Spartanburg hunters

Spinnersdj

Oct 25, 2006
Hi I live in Gray Court but work in Mauldin I stay pretty busy but would love to do some hunting. I am new to the hobbie.

gldhntr

Bronze Member
Dec 6, 2004
camp croft, spartanburg county,sc, very large ww2 training camp and barracks...played around there alot as a kid.........gldhntr

OP
OP
rotty23

rotty23

Nov 9, 2005
Greer SC
Detector(s) used
Minelab quattro and AT Pro
I thought Camp Croft was a state park and off limits to md'ing?...I also was told there used to be a health spa
up in that area up into the 60s but was built in the late 1800s to early 1900s but the lady at work who told me about it couldnt remember where it was...but it was in the Whitestone area off of 56 somewhere...she is 43 and says that her mother used to take her there for spring water and she played on the hotel steps...and at that time the steps were all that was left of the spa.

gldhntr

Bronze Member
Dec 6, 2004
part of the original camp is now a park but only a small part of it. an old fellow that trained there said the present park is only about 1/10th of the original camp.....it extended well past the present day fuel tank complex, the old moreland chemical plant, etc...several of the barrack buildings were still standing last time i was in the area around 1990-91, these being on the far side of the fuel tank complex from the present park, {long narrow buildings side by side}.....i would try library for old maps showing original grounds...also one of the last used covered bridges in the state was very close to the park where a side road crossed the rr tracks.......g

gldhntr

Bronze Member
Dec 6, 2004