Bigcypresshunter

Gold Member
Dec 15, 2004
South Florida
Detector(s) used
70's Whites TM Amphibian, HH Pulse, Ace 250
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Ill rotate them to upright and try to compare and study them when I get a chance. So far I ve been 100 percent correct in spotting replicas, counterfeits and fakes just from looking at the pictures but I am no expert.

Bigcypresshunter

Gold Member
Dec 15, 2004
South Florida
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Ill have to study these another time because I need to go to work.

aquanut

Bronze Member
Jul 12, 2005
Sebastian, Florida
Detector(s) used
Fisher CZ21, Tesoro Tiger Shark
This is just a suggestion... but with everyone concerned about fakes, we know that the silver used by the Spaniards was 99.9% pure. They don't have that kind of purity today. Will a specific gravity test reveal the purity?
Aquanut

By the way Big, are you coming to the cook out or not?

Bigcypresshunter

Gold Member
Dec 15, 2004
South Florida
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Im in Ocala on a very slow connection. Of course I will go to the cookout. When is it? I didnt hear anything.

divewrecks

Bronze Member
Sep 7, 2004
Down South - Marietta, GA
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE (land), Aquapulse AQ1B (sea), Fisher CZ-20 (water, beach), Fisher 1266X (woods)
aquanut said:
This is just a suggestion... but with everyone concerned about fakes, we know that the silver used by the Spaniards was 99.9% pure. They don't have that kind of purity today. Will a specific gravity test reveal the purity?
Aquanut

Hey Aquanut, silver bullion coins that are 99.9% silver (0.999 pure) are fairly common. Search on Ebay and you will get thousands of hits. Also, the silver in colonial coins was closer in purity to sterling than pure silver, so a forger could melt down flatware and get a purity that would pass as a cob.

Stan

divewrecks

Bronze Member
Sep 7, 2004
Down South - Marietta, GA
Detector(s) used