I need some help identifying this please

captain_mike

Aug 20, 2012
Dogtown
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett ATX, Whites Goldmaster GMX, Whites TDI SL, Whites MXT ALL PRO, Minelab GP3500, Whites MX Sport
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I found this coin detecting today. It appears to be silver and is bendable. It looks like silver, and appears to have a date o.k. It (1809). A few guys have told me it says "copy"on it, but under a magnifier it it's clearly an 8, not a P on the one side. The scale says it weighs 13.1 grams. I have no experience with this, but com what I've read, it could be a 4 reale? Thanks in advance for your help. 20170612_190058.jpg 20170612_185801.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930P using TreasureNet.com mobile app

OP
OP
C

captain_mike

Aug 20, 2012
Dogtown
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett ATX, Whites Goldmaster GMX, Whites TDI SL, Whites MXT ALL PRO, Minelab GP3500, Whites MX Sport
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So maybe it's 1807 or 1809. I don't know if that's where a date would be. It's clearly an 8. It was found in an old section of California in the gold country.

OP
OP
C

captain_mike

Aug 20, 2012
Dogtown
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks, I was afraid of that. I'll have to get it checked for silver content

Diver_Down

Silver Member
Dec 13, 2008
St. Augustine, FL