Hi guys, new here. Any help with this Cob please

alexmun

Tenderfoot
Jan 3, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Is this real. I only see an S, but on the top of the coin, where the coat of arms is, there is an AC clearly visible... That's what worries me... s-l1600 (1).jpg s-l1600.jpg

Thanks a lot...

stevemc

Bronze Member
Feb 12, 2005
Sarasota, FL
Detector(s) used
Whites Surfmaster PI Pro and Whites Surfmaster PI, Minelab Excal NY blue sword. 2 White's Dual field pi, Garrett sea hunter pi II (but don't use it for obvious reasons) 5' x 3 1/2' coil underwater Pi
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
Looks like a South American early to mid 1600s 8 reale cob. I do not see the AC you are talking about on the shield side.
That is called the Hapsburg shield. Prior would be the script of Charles and Joanna, and after the Shield cob would be the Pillars and waves instead of the shield. I am no expert, hard to say from a small picture. Looks to be corroded or maybe positive relief where it should not have positive relief. Bumps where it should be smooth. Which could be from molding off a coin and casting a fake one. Bubbles in the plaster of the moldMaybe take some side pictures, of the edge, and maybe close ups of the cross side and the shield side.

stevemc

Bronze Member
Feb 12, 2005
Sarasota, FL
Detector(s) used
Whites Surfmaster PI Pro and Whites Surfmaster PI, Minelab Excal NY blue sword. 2 White's Dual field pi, Garrett sea hunter pi II (but don't use it for obvious reasons) 5' x 3 1/2' coil underwater Pi
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
Also if you have any COA. Certificate of authenticity. Where it came from and any provenance, etc. any history you were told.

Last edited:

stevemc

Bronze Member
Feb 12, 2005
Sarasota, FL
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
And welcome! Hopefully someone can evaluate it for you.

OP
OP
A

alexmun

Tenderfoot
Jan 3, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Steve thanks