Identify a Mystery Half Reale Cob

NicaJake

Feb 25, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello all. I am a cob newbie but I'm hooked. I've been sniffing around Nicaragua and acquired a few decent 1 Reale Tic tac toe Potosi cobs. In the same little batch I got this mystery one. A clipped half reale I presume. 0.9 grams. But the monogram is all wrong. Looks like a Philip IV or V but the top of the P is missing, the bottom of the P doesn't drag across, and the S is missing. The 23 date... don't most half reales have 3 digits? And with the date section this neat, should there not be some dots hanging around? Was this just made by a very lazy hammerman? I would have assumed the fancy P in the monogram would be a single punch though. What have I got here?

20200224_184018.jpg 20200224_184006.jpg 20200224_183854.jpg 20200224_183827.jpg

cuzcosquirrel

Aug 20, 2008
Phillip V or Louis his son, who had coins made with his name for one year only because he suddenly died. Potosi 1723 in 'last phase' of cob production before milled coins.

OP
OP
N

NicaJake

Feb 25, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey. I think I figured this out. I have a piece of an 1823 Honduran Provisional Government 'imitation cob'. The Hondurans made these for 2 years. All different. Blank fields in the crosses or castles & lions, dots, no dots, jellybeans, 2 digits, 3 digits, 4 digits. A real mix with no consistency. but these are the only monograms that match mine, and they match well. What do you think? Sedwick has a little mention of them in his book even.
thumbnailFUZ2DB4Z.jpg thumbnail22.jpg thumbnail8SFFAY19.jpg thumbnailN2D185VO.jpg

OP
OP
N

NicaJake

Feb 25, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Phillip V or Louis his son, who had coins made with his name for one year only because he suddenly died. Potosi 1723 in 'last phase' of cob production before milled coins.

Thanks cuzcosquirrel! But have a look below. I think it's Honduran. 1823

cuzcosquirrel

Aug 20, 2008