Performance enhancements?

gunner6170

Oct 6, 2005
North Carolina
::)
First off... Howdy, ya'll! ;D
Been on the forums for about a week now and am mos def learning from all of the knowledge
ya'll present here! TY!

ok, i mostly figure to leave well enough alone, but has anyone noticed/know of any ways
to enhance the performance of their machines? I'm looking for little equipment tweaks,
i know the usual "practice, practice and more practice"! Trust me, i'm using my detector
when ever i get the chance! And yes, i am skeptical of opening up and messing with what i am
not familiar with, so only very minor or basic ideas, please! i am not an electrical engineer at all!
and i am honestly happy with the basic progs on the machine, just seeing ideas out there....

Now besides mechanical tweaks, can anyone offer environmental ideas? i am new, and i mean
NEW, to MDing so need to learn more! i have gleamed some knowledge from ya'lls posts, but
always looking for more! i figure i have a late model machine, so now i need to improve my mind
more than anything else to improve my finds.

Thanks for any and all ideas or shared knowledge! i'm loving the forums so far! :D
HH!

Rob

neilo

Aug 23, 2005
Rob what sort of machine are you using.where are you using it.What are you looking for?

If you are using a single frequency machine in highly mineralised or salty wet soil you will get more depth by using a double d coil. If the soil you are in ?is dry and not very mineralised you will get more depth by using a concentric coil.
If you use no discrimination you will get more depth.
If your machine has a auto sensitivity setting, you will generally get more depth by setting your sensitivity manually turning it up until you start to receive false signals then backing of slightly.
You will get more depth by using bigger coils but be aware that you will miss smaller items.