brand new to metal detecting , bought 1968 whites coinmaster iv HELP

miaggi2

Apr 25, 2009
i just bought a 1968 whites coinmaster 4, it didnt have any battery connections, but had the wires, i connected an 8 AA and a 9volt battery to it, it seems to make noise when put about 6" from a metal source, but the meter doesnt seem to move, only upon start up and to check the battery status..
can anyone give me advice, tell me about the unit, whats its value, how to work it, make it right, HELP >> LOL.
thank you

SC_hunter

Bronze Member
Jan 16, 2007
South Carolina
Detector(s) used
Whites V3i,Whites XLT,Ace 250 and BH Tracker IV and Others.....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Go to Whites website. I think they have the manual for that machine on the site. I have an old coinmaster 2/DB and they had that manual.

Joe(TX)

Aug 21, 2008
Georgia
Detector(s) used
Old School
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
...........MIAGGI2.........No offense but unless you are a Vintage Detector Collector........you are just wasting your time if you intend to use this for coin hunting!!......Especially for a Newbie it is not wise to start off with a detector that is so outdated.........for around $212.00 you can get a new Garrett Ace 250 or for around $200.00 you can get a Fisher F2...........Buying new is good .......you get a warranty and customer support...............Any reason why you bought a 1968 model detector??..................Not sure but you may have reasoned that you are saving money........this is why .......a lot of detectors wind up in the closet and another would be Treasure Hunter bites the dust!! ...........GOOD LUCK..........and HH.......Joe

johnnycat

Bronze Member
Aug 19, 2007
Mechanicsville, VA
Detector(s) used
Legend
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting