Tuning up an old metal detector

D

david1953

I have a White's Coinmaster 5000/D Series 3 which I bought in 1984.

Does anybody know whether there is anything in the elctronics of this detector that might have drifted with time, causing performance degradation over time? For example, analog filter getting detuned or detector loosing balance?

If so, can these drifts be retuned for peak performance?

kenb

Bronze Member
Dec 3, 2004
Long Island New York
Detector(s) used
White's XLT
I got a 5000/d from one of my customers a year or two ago and it works great. It sat in her garage for years after her husband past, he had all the original paper work with it including the receipt. It blows my bounty hunter away. Good luck with it

kenb

Huizer

Jan 27, 2005
The only thing I can think of is the capacitors. They have a shelf life, even more when they are not used. I think they should be ok from 1984 but I know from building guitar amps that the electrolite in the electrolytic caps can dry up. This is usually the cause of hum in an old amp (1960s to 70s) but these are filter caps and see a lot more voltage than your detector would. I always laugh to myself when i see some one on Ebay selling NOS caps.....you take a chance if you buy those. Just a thought if you want to muck around with it.
Dan.

R

Reallydigit

What I do with all my detectors is clean and lube the controls, jacks, battery connectors and coil pins with CAIG P-5 control lubricant. Put it on a Q-tip to clean the pins. This stuff is recognized by the largest electronic companies and it lasts alot longer than other cleaners. It's on the internet at CAIG.com

luxefaire

Dec 21, 2005
Jolly Corner FL
Detector(s) used
Any
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting