Noticed Pin Point mode better than standard for searching?
Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Noticed Pin Point mode better than standard for searching?

« Prev Thread | Next Thread »

Jan 2014
    23 times
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting

Noticed Pin Point mode better than standard for searching?

So I'm new to the hobby. 2 weeks now with my ace 250...I've found gold and other metal charms, plus a silver necklace already. Anyway, I say that to illustrate that I got pretty heavy into the hobby. I'm still learning my metal detector and I feel it's my best friend. I enjoy it so much. Anyway, today, I've been kind of thinking about the pin point function of the metal detector and have gotten a good feel for how it works...With that being said, I've noticed a very interesting side effect with the detector..It seems like the pin pointer mode is more sensitive than the standard swipe mode...I mean, if I pop my standard coil into the air away from any metal, hit the pin point button and then bring it near the ground, the detector seems to become a LOT more sensitive to the ground, metals, and area...Like I will not only get hits from under my coil, but I can get readings from a larger area over all...But at the same time, making it easy to pinpoint where the item is...From there, to verify it's not a false positive, you take it out of pin point mode and swipe it across to make sure you get a good pattern...Am I missing something here? Why wouldn't everyone use this mode more often? I seem to sweep a LOT faster doing it in pin pointer mode and my filter rate is a lot higher too...It really like exponentially increases my efficiency.

Jul 2013
    1166 times
    Banner Finds (1)