Noticed Pin Point mode better than standard for searching?

luciddream

Greenie
Jan 18, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So I'm new to the hobby. 2 weeks now with my ace 250...I've found gold and other metal charms, plus a silver necklace already. Anyway, I say that to illustrate that I got pretty heavy into the hobby. I'm still learning my metal detector and I feel it's my best friend. I enjoy it so much. Anyway, today, I've been kind of thinking about the pin point function of the metal detector and have gotten a good feel for how it works...With that being said, I've noticed a very interesting side effect with the detector..It seems like the pin pointer mode is more sensitive than the standard swipe mode...I mean, if I pop my standard coil into the air away from any metal, hit the pin point button and then bring it near the ground, the detector seems to become a LOT more sensitive to the ground, metals, and area...Like I will not only get hits from under my coil, but I can get readings from a larger area over all...But at the same time, making it easy to pinpoint where the item is...From there, to verify it's not a false positive, you take it out of pin point mode and swipe it across to make sure you get a good pattern...Am I missing something here? Why wouldn't everyone use this mode more often? I seem to sweep a LOT faster doing it in pin pointer mode and my filter rate is a lot higher too...It really like exponentially increases my efficiency.

Irishgoldhound

Bronze Member
Jul 15, 2013
🥇 Banner finds
Pin point mode on the 250 is meant to be depressed once an object is found and held down to isolate the target, then released again. You can't hunt in pin point mode on the ace 250. That would mean you would have to keep your finger pushed on the button at all times. It's not like Excallibur or a Beach Hunter ID where you can hunt in pin point mode.

OP
OP
L

luciddream

Greenie
Jan 18, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting