Anyone Mod or Rebiuld Their Own Machines?

Nitric

Silver Member
Mar 8, 2014
Dallas,GA
Detector(s) used
CZ6A
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have a ton of questions....I'm fairly new to electronics and kind of trying to teach myself as I go.

I have a couple of older coinmaster classic III's and a cz6a. I do know from playing around with other equipment and rebuilding some circuit boards that over years the caps and some of the other components need changed to get it back to operating like new. Does this same idea apply to Detectors too? I would like to take one apart and play around with it, Probably one of the coinmasters since I still use the cz6a and really don't want to ruin it or "operate" on it until I learn more about this stuff.

I do have some equipment, meters(digital and analog),scope, and other basic tools. I haven't really found anything online going into any kind of depth on how to modify or cal. machines.

With pinball and stereo equipment, etc.....there is tons of info on the net. There really isn't much on detectors, that I could find.

Anyone out there play around with any of this kind of stuff or that can send me in some kind of direction?

Last edited:

Slingshot

Bronze Member
Apr 3, 2004
Southern Appalachia
Detector(s) used
Whites CM2 BFO, Harbor Freight 9 function, BH Pioneer 202, Fisher F22
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've kept some machines hearts beating far past their normal lifetimes and am playing around with an old Whites CM2 BFO unit which I have running but am playing with for different effects. I also purchased a Harbor Freight 9 function metal detector this past spring, and have played with tweeking with it to get better depth, which added about 2 inches to the depth capability. Yeah, I'm nuts, but it's about as much fun as detecting itself. My YT vid about tweeking the HF9 -https://youtu.be/RAaFh0mSCNU

OP
OP
Nitric

Nitric

Silver Member
Mar 8, 2014
Dallas,GA
Detector(s) used
CZ6A
Primary Interest: