XLT OR DFX

R

rvbvetter

I would of thought somebody would have responded by now. I've never had the XLT and only have had my Dfx for 3 months. Before that a whites eagle. People seem to like their XLTs, and if they do everything a Dfx does, i'd go with the XLT. My 2 cents HH

wmas1960

May 17, 2005
Chicagoland
Didn't see this thread sooner.? I am far from an expert on MDing but I have to say that I am happy with my XLT. It is certainly more than where I am at right now.? ?Actually, I don't know what the real differences are, between these two models.? The DFX wasn't around when I bought the XLT.? If you have to have the top of the line, (I assume that is what the DFX is ???) than you might consider that.? What attracted me to the XLT was the display, discrimination, Identification of targets and the depth readout.? ?The DFX, as I understand, has all that also but if the price was a lot, I probably would have gone lower with the XLT.? I had enough to spend but probably couldn't have justified that much more.? ?

I have read some people who say the XLT is a difficult machine and has a big learning curve. I would imagine the DFX is similar in that respect.? ? ?I don't think that is true though.? You can read the first few pages of the manual and be going right away.? Start by using the presets. That is what I have been doing and I have been alternating between them trying to understand and experience the differences.? ?Most of my searching has been Jewelry Beach, Coin and Jewelry and recently, Relic.? ?There is a lot of power to the machine that I haven't realized yet but I am trying to get familiar with everything right now.? It is certainly something to grow into and with some reading of the rest of the manual, that may be where the learning curve might be.? ?But, if you are an average person starting out, take some time and just have fun.?