Looking for tips on hunting the woods.

Mobes

Oct 4, 2007
Westmont IL
Detector(s) used
Whites Prism IV
So I have a few spots in the middle of the woods that I would love to hunt and see whats around these old foundations, the only problem I have is that I'm still new to this and Im not sure what the easiest way is to do it. Do you guys only hunt in the woods in the spring when all the weeds are not present or do you just fight your way through them? I have tried but I know that I am missing alot of stuff im sure and getting frustrated with not being able to sweep the ground proficiently. Also any other tips you guys can give that I may not be thinking of would be more than welcome and apprieciated. Thanks in advance to any help you guys can provide.

~MetalDigger~

Oct 20, 2007
North Carolina
Get you a push mower, or weedeater, bush axe, something and clear the weeds, then get you some flags, and grid the area off. Search in grids, and over lap your swings on each pass, that should yeild maxium results. Also you can go over the area in all metal mode first, then come back, and refine your serch settings and get the good stuff. I'm kinda new to this, been out of the hobby for a while, and just purchased a new detector. I say hunt as long as the ground is not rock hard/frozen.

LOL, a push mower...

watercolor

Silver Member
Feb 3, 2007
Arlington Heights, IL
Detector(s) used
V3i, MXT-All Pro and Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
When I started detecting three years ago, I really never gave the woods their due until I
started finding coins that were most often, over 100-years old. Now you can't get me out
of them. As you'll soon discover, the woods are a trove for surface and buried artifacts.

As for the best time of the year to hunt, now and early spring. But, when you start finding
the old stuff, you'll want to hunt them all the time. Check out "historicaerials.com" for some