LR2000 Help

usher21

Mar 28, 2014
Modesto, CA
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter "the Outback"
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I need some help with the LR2000. I was able to see a list of gold claims that appear to be unowned. They are listed as closed. I am assuming that is what I want to look at. How in the heck do I locate these on a map? I want to see where they are located before I expend any other energy. Oh, when I find them on a map, do I then contact the BLM to stake the claim? What would the next step be? I have never done this before. Thanks for your help. May your pans be yellow! Mark

Goldminer

Apr 28, 2006
Las Vegas, Nv
Mark,
Not sure what you are asking here. If you know the location of a site, you would convert lat/lon to Meridian, Township, Range, and Section. Then go to LR2000, and find the Pub MC Geo Index. There is a format to inter the MTRS info, and then the claims info will come up.

OP
OP
U

usher21

Mar 28, 2014
Modesto, CA
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Yeah. I have been able to figure it out. Took some playing to do so. There are quite a number to look at. What I want to do now is to find the claims most interesting onto a map, topo or other. I know the location I want to look at. I have even been in the area and have yet to be skunked when I go. I know it holds gold but would like to claim it, if possible. I can find this place on google earth, no prob. Someone mentioned a title plat but am lost there.

OP
OP
U

usher21

Mar 28, 2014
Modesto, CA
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
kay. thanks for that. may your pan be yellow! mark

Rob in KS

Aug 21, 2006
Middle of Kansas
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Go to the gold prospecting section. Look for posts by Clay Diggins and TerryC. You might have to look back for a ways. Lots of good info in that section. I think Clay has a tutorial on LR2000.

OP
OP
U

usher21

Mar 28, 2014
Modesto, CA
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Prospecting