How deep is too deep?

Apr 21, 2014
Illinois
Detector(s) used
Ground EFX
Garrett
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sometimes I find myself digging deep into the ground that ends up being trash of some sort. Is there a better tool or learning skill I haven't taught myself or seen around. I am still new to the detecting and want to know how much time I should spend in a hole, of course I don't want to miss anything! Any tips?

releventchair

Gold Member
May 9, 2012
Primary Interest:
Other
Before digging note the width of a slow swing that gives a signal. A coin has a narrow band. Roughly a bigger or more mass target gives a wider band or width the detector notices.A tight one inchish sweet spot can be demonstrated and practiced on using a planted coin though slightly different than one that has been buried a while. Also raise coil six inches and swing. Still getting a signal may be a large target. A foot above it surly is!. Still, by digging we learn our units. Plus we don,t know what could be in or under the trash till it is removed. Keep it fun!

DDancer

Bronze Member
Mar 25, 2014
Traveling US to work
Detector(s) used
Current Equinox 600
Past Whites DFX Garret GTI 2500 and others
Prospecting Minelab GPZ 7000
Past SD 2100 GP 3000 (retired)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting