omega v. gtp1350

njnydigger

Jun 4, 2009
Detector(s) used
I've swung White's (MXT), Minelab (Safari) & currently run with an Omega 8000 by Teknetics & Fisher CZ-3D (1021 Model)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey Don :) I've never used a GTP myself, however, I just started swinging an Omega 8000 a few weeks ago. I am new to the Tek line. I have used Minelab & White's before only. I didn't care for Minelab at all. The White's MXT was THE machine IMHO. It got stolen and I have another one coming soon. Anyways, where a little info that might help in your decision...

So far, I happen to LOVE the Omega :hello2: I'll give you a run-down on the pluses and minuses below;

PLUSES

1. Almost never nulls out around iron and junk. This is important. Nulling means lost targets.

2. The recovery speed on this thing is simply amazing. Look up the Omega 8000 on youtube. You should come across a video or two demonstrating the speed while sweeping over targets. Incredible. You don't need to hunt like a turtle as is the case with the Minelab's.

3. Very deep considering the price range. To be honest, I haven't seen monster depth so far, but surely a good 8 or 9" on coin sized targets. For a $500 machine that is just phenomenal. And just because I haven't seen the monster depth so far doesn't mean it doesn't exist. Maybe I just never passed my coil over any real deepies yet. BTW, yes, I do believe Minelab's and even White's get a tad more depth and pick-up the deep signals better, but again, those machines are at least several hundred dollars more. Is it worth it to pay MUCH more for an extra inch or two?

4. This thing is feather light. You can swing it all day and won't feel fatigued. No exaggeration. Most of the more expensive detectors are heavy - I should know, I swung them. However, if you can only swing one for 3 or 4 hours before your arm falls off, what good is it?!