Granite, Maryland
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Omega 8000
Teknetics Delta 4000,
Deteknix XPointer,
Fiskar's Big Grip Digger & my old Army Trench shovel for the tough jobs
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I've been thinking about picking up the Nel Sharpshooter coil for my Delta 4000. The price is reasonable ($115.00) and from what I have read, it should improve overall performance. I've been thinking about another upgrade but I'm also thinking that a different coil may be all the upgrade I need at this point.

I've never used a DD coil before; just the 8" concentric.
So, has anyone tried this setup before and if so, do you recommend it?? Would this be a good investment/upgrade or should I just stick with the one I have??

Thanks in advance.

Phantasman

Gold Member
Nov 24, 2006
NE Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Nokta Simplex, Land Ranger Pro, Quick Draw Pro, Deteknix XPointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
The Sharpshooter is a good coil to have even with the stock 8". It's going to separate targets better (less chance to mask), it seems to work better rejecting any EMI and it sweeps with a wider field over the concentric. It may not get better depth, unless you are in a higher mineralized soil area. It does require a little more thought to pinpoint with, but once you get used to it, you'll probably not go back to the stock coil. NELs are really made well and hold their value.

OP
OP
Garrett424

Garrett424

Silver Member
Jun 20, 2014
Granite, Maryland
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Omega 8000
Teknetics Delta 4000,
Deteknix XPointer,
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting