driftless

Sep 21, 2015
SE MN
Detector(s) used
Delta 4000, F 70
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Delta 4000 for 7 months, i'm so hooked

I'm still a newbie with this recent hobby/addiction but like most of you I can't get enough. I had never touched a md before I bought my Delta. I'm very happy with that choice. I've spent a couple hundred hrs with it and always have a great time. I hunt mostly old farmsteads, old school sites, and of course parks. I have no place within 300 miles to go to look at an upgrade detector. I want one that can handle all soil conditions including beaches so when I retire I can take it anywhere in the country. I have been researching the T2. Would that detector work for me anywhere, even shallow water? I appreciate your thoughts.

dirtscratcher

Bronze Member
Mar 18, 2009
Columbia falls Montana
Detector(s) used
Minelab Sov GT Explorer XS Tesoro Vaq t2se x705
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I don't think the t2 would be very good in salt water. I have done a bunch of freshwater wading with t2 and the sharpshooter and had a lot of success. The sharpshooter give decent coverage with outstanding pinpointing which helps when wading.

OP
OP
driftless

driftless

Sep 21, 2015
SE MN
Detector(s) used
Delta 4000, F 70
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Thank-you Dirtscratcher. I might take a close look at the F70, I've read it works in salt water.

Garrett424

Silver Member
Jun 20, 2014
Granite, Maryland
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Omega 8000
Teknetics Delta 4000,
Deteknix XPointer,
Fiskar's Big Grip Digger & my old Army Trench shovel for the tough jobs
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
The Delta is a great detector. I'm happy for you that you started out with a good machine. I recently found two more gold rings with mine about two weeks ago.

I've never used a T2 but I've heard nothing but good about it. There is plenty of info and thousands of user reviews online.
Teknetics really makes some excellent products.

OP
OP
driftless

driftless