Billieg

Jul 19, 2019
Deltona Fl
Detector(s) used
AT-Pro - Teknetics T2 LTD
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello everyone,
This is my first post so I'll tell you a little bit about myself and ask my question.
I'm 67 and live in Deltona Fl. I've been detecting for over 35 years and have binders of coins and a few boxes of "stuff". I started out with a cheap Fisher and then got 2 Teknetic 9000's for me and my wife. In my opinion they were the best detector ever made. The different sounds were crisp and you rarely had to look at the screen to know what you had. they went pretty deep. Found 1800 dimes at 10".

My wife died and I gave my 9000 to my brother inlaw and basically quit. 2 months ago I found the binders full of coins and buttons and decided to get back into it. The 2 9000's I bought used really didn't work. I returned the one I could and threw the other in the trash. After researching I bought a Garrett AT-pro. It's a good detector but the screen is small and I have found nothing deeper than 6" - 8". I did more research and bought a Minelab E-trac. A little larger screen but you CAN'T see it. It's so dim even with the back light on. In the house I had to use a flashlight to see it. It did go deep though. Found a 2" twisted piece of copper wire 15" deep with a strong signal. Sold it and did more research.

Just ordered the T-2 LTD and have been reading up on settings. Some confusing things:
1- some say use BP mode with less sensitivity others say use C-2 with high Sensitivity.
2- Some say set dis at 12 -15 others say 20 -35

I search the salt water beaches and empty lots. The beaches have little iron and the lots may have a lot of iron. I don't want to listen to it hiss and beep constantly so what would a good setting for the beach and one for the lots?

Thanks for any replies and good luck hunting!
Bill

BH505Man

Nov 18, 2013
Granite Falls, WA
Detector(s) used