Need advice choosing a new detector

treasure4pleasure

Apr 18, 2012
Indiana
Detector(s) used
FIsher F2, Garrett ace 250
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hello everyone :) I am a newbie here and to the hobby.
Got my son a garrett ace 250 last year and decided that i'd like to have my own detector when we go out. I really enjoyed going out with him and had to fight the instinct to take it away from him.:laughing7:
I'm wondering what would be a good one that won't cause any interference with his when we're out together. I would kind of like a screen but could prob. live without it. My hopes are to find oldcoinsand maybe some jewelry. I notice the 250 gave alot of false readings and sometimes just going off constantly so it was frustrating. I am not a fan of digging so .... ;)
Here are my considerations thus far: Fisher F2, a tesoro, or an xterra 305. I like the looks of the tesoro vaquero but it's a bit more than i can spend.
Thanks!
*oops i put this in the wrong section..sorry.

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Might check on some of the Tesoros, they have what is called a freq shifter, you can adjust your freq to find one that does not interfere with the Ace 250.....I have a fisher 1225 I use for competition hunts so I could shift freq anytime I was near someone and getting interference... I am not sure what models of Tesoro has the freq shifter, I know the Conquistador had it (no longer made) and the Cibola has it now, there may be other models that have it as well...

OP
OP
treasure4pleasure

treasure4pleasure

Apr 18, 2012
Indiana
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting