Tejon & Vaquero differences?

Rocky77

Feb 23, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've never used a Tesoro before, but they look like fun detectors and I've heard nothing but good things about them. I've been doing some research and I think if I were to purchase one it would be the Vaquero or the Tejon. What are the major differences between the two?

I'd mostly be relic hunting, but of course, I'd use it for local park hunts and coin shooting. Any info would be most appreciative. Thanks!

Ronzie

May 27, 2009
Southern Ontario
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Outlaw w/Garrett pinpointer

past machines - Minelab Explorer SE Pro/ Garrett GTI 2500 /Garrett GTAx1000
Both are great but the Tejon is known for depth. It'll go deeper than my Explorer SE w/pro coil.
I have an Outlaw that I love and picked it over the Vaquero because it comes with 3 coils.
Between this fall and next spring I'm getting a Tejon & a Tiger Shark. They are the most fun, underrated and best for money metal detectors on the planet.
A great thing about the Outlaw & the Vaquero is they both take a single 9 volt battery. The Tejon is the better machine out of the 3, and better at relic hunting.
So imo I'd get the Tejon, but either way you win.
My order would be Tejon, Outlaw, Vaquero.

chinchilla

Dec 18, 2009
Detector(s) used
Tesoro, White's
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Tesoros are great machines, well built, good performance, efficient, very light and with only the necessary (no bells and whistles)

Both detectors are good performers. The vaquero is easier to handle and more of a do everything machine than the Tejon, but the tejon has more power, depth and a dual discrimination toggle

OP
OP
R

Rocky77

Feb 23, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks for the replies! I definitely like the dual disc. function of the Tejon. I'll watch some videos and do some more research before I make my decision.

rws51

May 12, 2009