Questions to ask on a used Vaquero

silvernd

Oct 15, 2011
Primary Interest:
Other
I'm new to the hobby and had narrowed my choices to a Compadre or a Fisher F2. However there's a listing on another site that has a used Vaquero for 299. The seller says it's in "used but great condition". He also said the warranty card hasn't been sent in so presumably the warranty could still be available.

I can't justify a new Vaquero's price, but since I'm in the mineralized South and would also like to hit beaches occasionally, I like the idea of an adjustable ground balance.

My question is, what should I ask/look for to make sure I'm not getting an abused detector?

Thanks in advance.

roaddust66

Sep 22, 2013
Chattanooga Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Impact , Tejon . Fisher F75, Vaquero, uMaxSilver, Cibola , Delta 4000, F2, Ace350 , original Bandido
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
a Compadre or a Fisher F2 are both awesome machines. They are like a really great sub compact car. A Vaquero would be like a BMW 6 CAR or a New Camaro . Does this help ? Go with the Vaquero. Buy you wife the F 2

OP
OP
S

silvernd

Oct 15, 2011
Primary Interest:
Other
Yeah I definitely want to get the Vaquero as long as I can make sure the used one I'm looking at is a good machine.

luvsdux

Bronze Member
May 16, 2007
Lewiston, Idaho
Detector(s) used
Multiple Tesoros and Whites
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
If you are in a position to get "hands on" look it over carefully for obvious signs of abuse beyond reasonable use marks, slide the lower pole in and out to see if it moves freely and have the seller demonstrate how it works.
luvsdux

SusanMN

Silver Member
Jun 1, 2007
Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Tiger Shark, Xterra 705, Makro Legend
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting