Unexpected vaquero

swolfe

Jul 8, 2012
Rockford Illinois
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Beep and Dig Harbor Freight 9 function detector.
Whites Coinmaster DB/4
Whites Coinmaster Pro
Tesoro Vaquero
Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hello hunters! I have recently discovered that I will be getting a Tesoro Vaquero for my birthday. I have been using a coinmaster pro for a couple of years and my old machine was a metered whites db/4.

I have need for a second machine as I often hunt with my mom and we share our one working detector. We're happy with the coinmaster pro and I see that it's actually a bit cheaper than the vaquero. My impulse is to return the Tesoro and get a second coinmaster pro or even the coinmaster GT - would this be a mistake? I don't want to give up a nice machine if that is what the vaquero is.

The idea of not having a meter is a bit intimidating but I feel like I could handle it, my question I guess is what should I expect from this machine? Should I expect similar performance minus the target ID or multi tone? Am I just losing features or would I gain something?

I see some good things about the Vaquero on sites regarding depth. Depth is nice but should I really expect the vaquero to be deeper than my current machine?

fella

Bronze Member
Oct 24, 2012
Wisc
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Yes, The Vaq will be much deeper than the Coinmaster Pro. In fact the CMP is one of the weakest detectors I've ever owned. Even the Ace's I've used would kill it in the depth dept.
The Vaquero is a great performing detector and you should do well with it. Good luck!

OP
OP
swolfe

swolfe

Jul 8, 2012
Rockford Illinois
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Whites Coinmaster DB/4
Whites Coinmaster Pro
Tesoro Vaquero
Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting