Need Some Guidence

dlt123me

Sep 18, 2014
Newberg Oregon
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi, I am new to treasure hunting and have not bought a detector yet. In all my research so far, I am leaning towards going with a Tesoro as my first MD...

I am still in the learning process and I live in the Pacific Northwest near Portland Oregon. Not sure if that makes any difference but thought I would mention it.

I am interested in locating coins, jewelry and maybe small gold nuggets. I also would like to be able to use my MD on the Oregon coast to do some sand searching as well... and if possible, be able to place the coil end in the water to search for shallow water finds.

Question: Am I being unrealistic in expecting my MD to be able to do both water and land searching or am I going to need a completely separate MD for any water work?

Of the detectors made by Tesoro, which one would be better suited for my needs. I am not interested in searching for relics... only what I just listed.

Also, I am hoping to get my son interested in treasure hunting so not too concerned about the price at this point. I am willing to buy a nice MD to help him have success when using it.

Any help is appreciated and thanks for fielding my newbie question.

Dennis

Last edited:
OP
OP
dlt123me

dlt123me

Sep 18, 2014
Newberg Oregon
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I still need an answer to this question... but I have to say I am loving this site. I just ran into a thread about The Golden Olde website. I am in the process of reading articles that are on that site.

I may have asked a dumb question with this thread, but in the meantime, I will do some searching over at The Golden Olde. Not sure if I will find what I am looking for there, but it will help I'm sure...