May 11, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

larox

Tenderfoot
May 6, 2009
Detector(s) used
Tesoro
If it's a good deal go for it. You can add other coils later. In the mean time you've got a discontinued machine that is just starting to be apreseated for what it can do.

OP
OP
B

Backstrap80

May 11, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It's not a "deal" ill be over paying at least $100 over a stock eBay unit but it's local, I've been eying these for 6 months, I guess I can try to find a stock coil. But they're scarce.

Detector Wars

Nov 26, 2008
It will not affect the notch feature. I use DD's with my Golden and especially with the cleansweep, the notch feature works very well. I use the 11" DD as well.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
All manufactures "stock" coils are a compromises.

Detector Wars

Nov 26, 2008
Just to add: The notch feature will always work with any coil, you just need to know what's happening. The 11" DD for example won't be able to disc out bottletops completely, and it won't be able to notch them out either completely. This is because bottletops have ferrous and a high conductive metals in them. Large DD coils disc out the ferrous but see the non-ferrous.