CanTops

Tenderfoot
Apr 7, 2016
Northeast
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Vaquero & SR II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all. A newbie here. Great site, lots of great info.

I pulled my old SRII out of mothballs and have been getting into swinging it around old abandoned parks and older home sites. (I originally bought it for freshwater beaches.) It seems to do alright but I can't help thinking that some of the newer model Tesoros would do better - even though the SR II has separate ground, threshold, sens., disc., and volume controls. I primarily hunt coins and most of the sites are overgrown weeds or woods and have lots of trash. (Unbelievable amount of can tops. I've got huge collection.)

Would I get much better performance from a Silver (with the 8" and 12x10) over the SRII (w/stock 8" concentric)?

I can't find anything negative on the forums about the latest Silver and it seems real easy to use. (Plus the price is right and it seems everyone on this forum recommends having one). I know it doesn't GB externally but I do like the tone of the SRII and from what I can tell from the forums the Silver has a similar tone.

I'm only interested in another Tesoro, if anything, so no need for recommendations of other brands.

Thanks

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Can't go wrong with a new Tesoro machine! I would step up to the Vaquero, but if you can't afford it, the Silver uMax with the new 11" x 8" Widescan coil is a killer!

OP
OP
C

CanTops

Tenderfoot
Apr 7, 2016
Northeast
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Vaquero & SR II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting