tesoro sand shark vs. tiger shark

oregonoutback

Greenie
Nov 2, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey guys,

Been looking and pricing some underwater metal detectors. I go to lake Shasta and around the Tahoe area every year and love going to the beach when I visit family down in California. I am thinking about purchasing an underwater detector so when I go on my trips I can look for some lost items. I saw these 2 units and was interested in knowing what you think of them...pros and cons. I no longer live in florida and don't see a need to get high end model. I like the price point on the Tesoro models. Any input? It will mainly be in the lakes and maybe ocean when I go visit and make a dive or two on the Sonoma coast.
Thank you.

Mike

Tired Rooster

Nov 6, 2011
Alabama
Detector(s) used
Minelabs and Tesoros
Several of them....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm no expert on either machine. I just recently purchased a Tiger Shark myself but have only used it on land so far. So far I like it, but it will be warmer weather before I get in the water. Finds things on land really well though! What I can tell you is this. The Sand Shark is a PI machine and suited for salt water environment. You can use a PI machine in fresh water but you will have no discrimination. The Tiger Shark is a VLF discrimination machine. Not really good for salt water environment. But really good for fresh water. Hope maybe this helps a bit.

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Sand Shark is a Pulse Induction, Saltwater machine.