Trammells Trace - Hughes Springs, TX

SpaceGoose

Jul 8, 2008
Hughes Springs, TX
Trammell's Trace - Hughes Springs, TX

OK, I have no prob posting the city names and such, as they are readily available and published here on the Net. Here's my problem. I'm a trucker now, and as such, I'm quite limited on when I can get back home to Hughes Springs to look into this. I have heard stories of Reece Hughes and his settling near Chalibeaty Springs (now located dead center in Spring Park - center of town). An X boss of mine was into archaeology as a hobby and told me of a couple interesting things of indians between Hughes Springs and Avinger. Which serves to confirm the reports of indians in the area.

What I am specifially interested in is Trammell's treasure. Here is the mention of it in town history...

Reece Hughes was born in Bedford County, Tennessee, on November 26, 1811. When he was only 18 years old he left his home and joined a small ban of adventurers headed for Texas on a buffalo hunt. Texas, a province of Mexico, was a wild and unsettled region. This band was driven out by a larger band of hostile Indians.

The attractions of this strange, new country lured Reece Hughes back, nine years later when Texas became a Republic. He was joined by his brother Robert and a Negro man slave in his early 20’s.