Wild Good Chase?

Mar 2, 2009
Alright, here goes. I'm 26 and fed up with the daily "rat-race" and with things going the way they are, I'm ready to give everything up. Sometime late spring, I plan on leaving St. Louis and go placer prospecting for a year while living off the land in whatever way I can make it. Trapping small game, netting fish and eating whatever edible plants I come by. The only thing I'll bring is what I can carry on my back since I'll be hiking it wherever I go. Trying to stay away from the roads as much as possible. No gold or gems on a paved road, right?
Anyways, I'm new to prospecting and was maybe looking for some pointers or advice for a new guy. So far, my plan is to head down towards the Asheville, NC and search within a 100 mile radius in the mountains and foothills. When winter creeps in I'm looking to hike it to Georgia or Alabama. Hopefully will be warm enough I can get some panning in until the spring comes back. Then it's back up north if no luck. Anyone know of any good spots I won't get shot at around Asheville? Maybe someone with a claim who can't afford to get out 7 days a week? I'll gladly give a decent percentage. Actually, could be anywhere in the U.S. as long as I can feed myself.
I know it sounds a little loopy, but I really have nothing to lose and couldn't be any worse off than I am now. Only live once so I'm getting what I can out of it. If I have any success at all, I think I might make it a permanent thing. I'm no Grizzly Adams but I can sure give it a shot. Hoping to hear from you guys and good luck with your prospecting.

thrillathahunt

Silver Member
Jul 24, 2006
TEXAS
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Wow, sounds like my favorite movie, "Treasure of the Sierra Madre", although a different time and place. Wish I could be the old man that shows where to find the gold!
Anyway, I'm envious of you. Good luck!

Rick

Twin Digger

Feb 13, 2009
Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2