Heading to Ecuador, South America for 3 months.

Alaskan Adventurer

Dec 20, 2009
Ecuador
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey guys. I am finally making it down to Ecuador next month for at least 3 months. Yeah, i do know that it is a 3rd world, Latin American country that could be dangerous. I have been researching this trip for 2 years now and I have some connections. I will be bringing my sluice, metal detector and some other ultra light trekking equipment. Over the course of 3 months, i am meeting a few different people who will be joining me. Compared to most countries, Ecuador is still very wild, with an old west feeling to it. Much of the Amazon basin is still a bit unexplored and a majority of it is still unmapped. If you are a history buff, you will find Ecuador fascinating with its Inca and pre-inca history. Lots of buries/hidden treasure stories involving the Incas are still undiscovered. For a tiny little country, Ecuador has a huge variety of geography ranging from the Pacific coast to the north and west, the central Andes mountains in the center and the beautiful and exotic Amazonian basin to the east.

Feel free to post any questions or comments and i will try to keep you guys updated on my trip. I fly out on March 15th.

Cheers!

TheRandyMan

Apr 3, 2010
Dallas, Texas
Detector(s) used
Excalibur II, Minelab Etrac, Ace 250k, Discovery TF-900
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am green with envy...sounds like a great adventure. ! Please do keep us updated!!! :headbang:

Deno

Bronze Member
Dec 22, 2008
Fern Creek Ky
Detector(s) used
XLT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It sounds to me like you are living the dream. I saw a thing on the discovery channel
where a NASA guy had figured out how to locate ancient ruins using satellite images.
The vegetation around the ruins gives away their location. I bet you could do the
same thing with google earth or some such. Good luck and be careful. I would love
to hear your results.

Bum Luck