Are Open Organized Hunts worth the admission price?

RLP5676

Tenderfoot
Jul 13, 2016
New Jersey
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
HI Fellow Treasure Hunters!

I am fairly new to the hobby as well as this board. I noticed that there is an Open Treasure Hunt scheduled in the near future in my local area. The price of admission is about $100. Do any of you have experience with Organized Hunts? Are they worth it? They sound like fun but for $100 I'm not too sure. Thanks for your help!

Jason in Enid

Gold Member
Oct 10, 2009
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I depends on the details! $100 sounds pretty steep, but they might be burying some really great stuff, so maybe. I did my first competition hunt this spring and it was a lot of fun. I didn't win any prizes and I didn't get all my money's worth back in finds, but it was a learning experience, I met a lot of great people and I had a lot of fun.

I'm sure every club's hunts are unique, but here is a video of my first time experience....

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Last edited:

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
One of the best detectors for these hunts is the Fisher 1235-X as it will hunt with other detectors very near.
http://web.archive.org/web/20081121104238/http://thegoldenolde.com/favorog1.htm
Sandman is correct, I took his advice and bought used 1235x for the competition hunts I attended and it worked fantastically...The freq shifter worked perfectly to counter interference from other detectors.