Been watching

just-dig

Dec 25, 2008
North Texas
Hi, I've been watching the past couple of months. I really enjoy this site. I'm new to this hobby. I'm an avid collector of indian artifacts and have been digging for points all over Texas for about ten years now.
I've always wanted to get a metal detector and finally did two months ago in a trade for a car. It's a bounty hunter pioneer 505. I'm pretty dissapointed with it as far as depth goes. I only seem to pick up coins in the first three inches of soil. I've been hunting my yard and my mothers as well as a couple of jobsites but really haven't found more than a few wheat pennies and several nickels. Did I mention tons of pulltabs and shredded up pieces of aluminum and all kinds of brass?.....lol
Anyway, today I found something unique in my mothers yard. It's a 3x5 copper template for a wedding announcement from 1928. It took some careful cleaning to be able to read. The man that sold the lots to start our town back in 1880 was announcing his daughters wedding. My mother called her sister and she remembered where the print shop was for the town newspaper.
I'm pretty excited with the new hobby or obsession what ever you want to call it. I have access to countless homes here in town to be able to search with. The only problem I see so far is the depth with this detector. I'm picking up large targets down at the six to eight inch depth but it just wont hit on anything coin size from that depth. The ground is really dry and hard here right now. Will getting some moisture in the ground give me better depth with this machine or will I be forced to upgrade?....lol
Thanks, I'll post some pictures if I ever find anything worth showing.

Upvote 0

smokedaddy

Mar 4, 2008
SE Pennsylvania
Detector(s) used
Whites XLT Spectrum / Fisher 1266X / Minelab Sovereign Elite/ Garrett AT/Pro
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting