Accidental foundations, a quick lunch hunt...

Bavaria Mike

Gold Member
Feb 7, 2005
Bavaria Germany
Detector(s) used
Minelab XT70, Fisher 1280, Garrett Ace 250 and MH5
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I went back to some foundations I noticed just off the main street in a wood line on the army post where I have been driving by for nearly 23 years now. Only had about 45 minutes as this was a lunch hunt. I checked out the foundations, they are poured cement and don’t look like stone masonry and the foundations match the way most buildings were built here in the early 1930s when the German Army post was being built up. I thought it could have been an old house at first. Just the remnants of an original 1930ish building that was bombed in 1945 and dozed over. This is the front of the building seen from the street. There are two large tree stumps in front of the foundations that have probably hidden it.
21Jan09Found1.jpg

Back of the building foundations.
21Jan09FoundBack.jpg

I believe this to be the outside basement entrance. Many buildings have the same style. Probably a stairwell leading down to a door under the dirt about where I am standing. And I have to wonder if the basement is intact with a few Nazi war relics, LOL!
21Jan09Found2.jpg

Side of the foundations.
21Jan09FoundSide.jpg

I tried detecting the area, full of signals but mostly building debris. It has warmed up a little here and the soil was thawed about 2” then rock solid. I dug a hand full of trash, Budweiser beer can and this round aluminum piece about 1.25”/32mm in diameter. It was in the frozen soil but was a great signal so I chipped it out. No great finds but interesting and a cure for cabin fever, LOL. HH, Mike
21Jan09FoundFind.jpg

Upvote 0

crazyjarhead

Gold Member
Sep 10, 2007
N. San Diego County
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
You need to more alert when you are driving :D Nice pics and story. Maybe you can still find something good around there. HH Ron

S