May have a silver nugget

Jack Hamilton

Apr 13, 2009
Murrieta Ca
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Silver Sabre, Tesoro Lobo Super Traq
I just got my first detector a week ago. I have been searching some playgrounds in the evenings and
come up on many coins already, a lot of junk too. I decided to drive to an abandoned mine I know
of which I had suspected was an old gold mine. I am beginning to think it was a silver mine. I went
with my wife and she took the pics. We found a horny toad along the way. I also found what I suspect
to be a silver nugget. I found some melted aluminum as well. This nugget looks to have been melted
intensionally, there is a line in it that looks like a tool had picked it up while hot. When you drop it
lightly and it has the same sound my silver coins have when you flip them in the air, that nice riiiing.
I need to take it to someone to have it looked at as I am not a pro. Here are some pics of our day trip.
Yes I went in the mine. It resembles what folks call a spanish mine. Only about 5' high into solid granite
with no beams. I went in and scanned the floor but it appears as though someone had already been
through it, there was nothing to be found. I know its dangerous, but it was a very short tunnel, maybe
50 feet deep with a huge air vent. I was in for maybe 4-5 mins, got nervous and got out. The nugget was found on the road under an area of rock excavated from the side of the hill laying about 1 inch down. I'm swinging an older (15 years?) Tesoro silver sabre. I pulled an old coors beer can from about 12 inches down with this detector. Its a keeper :thumbsup:

Attachments

• hornytoad.JPG
    hornytoad.JPG
    56.9 KB · Views: 1,440
  • coming out of mine.JPG
    coming out of mine.JPG
    47.9 KB · Views: 728
  • Standing in front of mine.JPG
    Standing in front of mine.JPG
    79.4 KB · Views: 717
  • SweepingMD.JPG
    SweepingMD.JPG
    36.6 KB · Views: 708
  • silver nugget.JPG
    silver nugget.JPG
    15.4 KB · Views: 1,667
Upvote 6