WOOHOO First IHP!

FingerGrime

Mar 3, 2009
Kentucky
I am relatively new to the whole metal detecting thing. I have only been out about ten times.
Anyways, I went to the remains of a house (there are two chimneys still standing) at the edge of the woods. It seems as though at least part of the house has been bulldozed but the area that I presume was their front yard hasn't been. I can still see the outline of their sidewalk (lined with blocks). Anyways, I sorta focused on this area. It was pretty tough detecting since it is quite wooded in this area, with a good bit of low brush.

Now to the good stuff...
I was getting a pretty good dollar signal and I dug this item at about 7 inches. My guess is that it's some sort of irrigation tube valve or something. Any ideas?
IMG_1543.JPG

I guess that this is either a bullet or a melted piece of metal (it was found near some ashes in the ground).
IMG_1554.JPG

This was found in the old sidewalk. Earring, pin or what? Is it just a piece of junk or could it be something valuable?
IMG_1548.JPG
IMG_1547.JPG

My first IHP! 1891 and in great shape. I can read pretty much all of LIBERTY. This is my oldest coin by 25 years. I am super excited! I can't wait to go detecting again!
I am going to soak my items in olive oil overnight to free up a bit more dirt...
IMG_1550.JPG
IMG_1552.JPG

Upvote 0

coltdavis

Bronze Member
Dec 21, 2008
Michigan
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Congrats on the first IHP i wont ever forget mine :thumbsup: :thumbsup: i dug my new oldest coin today as well :D it was also an IHP only a fatty 1859 :D congrats again and im looking forward to seeing ur future post! keep it up. best of luck and HH

Michiganne

Silver Member
Mar 27, 2007
SW Michigan
Detector(s) used
Explorer SE
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Congrats on your first IHP, FG! :hello2: Your piece of jewelry looks older to me. WTG

HH

garthbfan169

Bronze Member
Feb 23, 2008