Not a "Todays Find" but I wanted to share. I represented us Friday at college.

tpmrcp

Dec 31, 2006
East Stroudsburg, PA
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett ACE 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Not a "Todays Find" but I wanted to share. I represented us Friday at college.

For those who don't know me, I am 33 and an Army veteran who got out recently and started college a few yrs ago. I earned my Associate's degree last Spring and I will graduate with my Bachelor's degree next Fall. I am in a speech communication class with all 18 and 19 year olds. Our most recent assignment was to write a persuasive speech. My topic was metal detecting. I brought in a shoe box full of things I have found and the class really was into it. One kid said that he collects wheat pennies so I gave him one of my still dirty wheaties straight from the ground. He thought that was the coolest thing ever! Well I received an A on the speech, and here is a copy of what I wrote and read, I hope I represented us well:

Treasure! There is treasure everywhere! Rings, Coins, Relics, GOLD!!

In the summer of 1986, before most of you in the audience were even born, I received a gift that I spent countless hours using, a metal detector. From 1986 to 1988 I would go on trips with the metal detecting club. I was the only kid. Once I became a teenager I forgot about the hobby and I did not start back up again until 3 years ago. This is such an amazing hobby, so convincing you all to feel the same way should come easy.