pynchinflint

Dec 31, 2007
Bama
Detector(s) used
GTI 2500
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Newbie's Finds

First of all, I'm rather new to detecting and have learned a good deal on this forum from its great members. Thanks a bunch. Still have a lot to learn.

I recently got permission to search a house that was built in the mid 1830's. I finally got out yesterday and was really pumped to see what secrets the ground held. The area has about an acre of maintained yard and 6+ acres of woods. In the woods stands an old barn that is completely grown over. In the back corner of the land is an old dwelling that only a mound of rock that is a collapsed chimney remains.

Well here are some of my finds. I know most of it is junk but I think this may be a pretty good spot. Obviously there was farming going on since I found some horse or ox shoes and what I am guessing is part of a horse's reigns. The small button on the bottom next to the harmonica reed says King Pointer on it. Evidently it was off a old pair of jeans.

I was getting ready to give it up for the day when the GTI 2500 gave me that sweet sounding bing that I had been hoping for. The target hit real hard on 9.5 in all directions. Every once in awhile it would bounce to 9 or 10, but not very often. I'm now thinking YES, my very first silver and it going to be a quarter. I slowly dug around the area, savoring the moment. To my surprise, it ends up not being a coin but the item in the second and third picture (the Kennedy was not found...just for size comparison).

I really don't know what this is, but I'm sure it is something common. Hope someone can help. The ring part that I'm hopeful is silver, is not magnetic but the rusted metal below the ring is. I don't see any markings on the inside either. My only thought is that it may be a handle off of some sort of serving set but I could be way off.

Now for the newbie question. Are there other metals that will make the detector ring silver?

Thanks for any help.