Guess what I found at the park yesterday???

mlw67

Bronze Member
Apr 27, 2006
Portland, OR
Zip. Nada. Nothing.

I've been watching this forum with all these old coins and silvers coming out of these old parks, so I decided to give a large, old, local park a try. I hunted for 2 hours and did not find one single coin--not even clad?! I did find 6 junk items. I tried in the grass, the worn areas, dirt edges, outside edges, corners, path edges, on trails in the woods, in the bushes in the woods, I even crawled like a dog under a holly bush thicket! Holly bushes! I did find 3 of the 6 garbage items under the holly bushes, but still no coins at all.

I am not a newbie. I know my detector and detecting in general. In fact I think I'm pretty good at it.

But that park was CLEAN. Silent hunting. This was a very weird experience for me--I'm used to hearing blippity bloppity bloop blip blip blip--and then trying to sort out the bloops from the blippity bloppities and blips.

Here is a picture of all the coins I found:

Upvote 0

Proolio

Sep 25, 2005
Western NY
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTI 1500
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
so you didnt get to make your face. to bad :D maybe next time

Rusted_Iron

Bronze Member
May 25, 2006
Corrodedlargecentville
Detector(s) used
Tesoro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I get days like that.
Holly bushes... now that's dedication. There has to be at least a rusty nail in there somewhere!

The Beep Goes On

Silver Member
Jan 11, 2006
Houston, TX
Detector(s) used
CTX3030, Excalibur II, V3i, TRX
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
LOL! Nice pic! That is wierd...when I get no sounds for a while I always check to make sure my DX-1 switch is in the "coil" position...I've wasted some time when I forgot to switch it back from "probe"...Doh! Sometimes I'll even throw a target in front of the unit to make sure the thing is working.

HH!
TBGO

bk

Bronze Member
Jan 19, 2005
SE Minnesota
Detector(s) used