Mass Copper, Liberty Head, Indian Head on MV

Flyingbuy

Apr 20, 2009
Berkshire County
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
MineLabs (Explorer ) , Tesoro (DeLeon ) ,Garrett (AT Pro Gold)
I live on Martha's Vineyard and almost never hunt the beaches ? I prefer the old farms and ancient pathways that run up and down the island. I have been hitting the same field for a few years , with great results , it's vast maybe 100 + acres ,one cellar hole, many stone walls ,dates mid to late 1700's . It's given up pre 1800 coins from all around the world. This weekend was a great day to hit the field, cool temps , and still no crowds on the island. I decided to re~detect some areas that I had covered but at a rapid pace. I have an issue with "hotrocks" out here in the spring ? , and usually use my minelabs underwater detector to deal with the issue however I have gotten better with my Tesoro and distinguishing between targets and rocks. On this day I chose to go very slow and dialed up the Tesoro with low discrimination and high sensitivity settings. The first target I desided to dig was indicating 8" deep and after sifting thru the loose dirt I recovered the 1864 Indian head . An hour later, I had recovered a hand full of early buttons and other typical early trash. As I focus along a stone wall I got a target that I really couldn't tell if it was a hotrock or good target ? I decided to dig it and as I pulled a baseball size rock thought I had been fooled but after removing the rock I scanned the dirt pile and had a strong 95 signal, out pooped the the green disc we all like to see !! I gently whipped the dirt away to see the standing indian and the " Common Wealth " lettering. I have always want to find one of these and with all the other odd coin I have recovered from this field I am not surprised but very happy to have found one of these !! About ten minutes later I pulled another copper, in tough shape but always welcome, a liberty head penny , date ? not readable. I am now goin