New member with 20 years of detecting experience! Found myself a merc today
Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

us
    Sep 2011
    New York
    Minelab E-Trac

New member with 20 years of detecting experience! Found myself a merc today

Long time browser, first time poster. Recently just went out detecting over the weekend with my E-trac to a spot along a lake in the State of New York. Well I am new to this detector, but not new to the hobby. I have been detecting since the 1990's and started out with one of the whites detectors. Now that I have been detecting for 20 years I seem to go much quicker recovering items from the ground then I had been 20 years ago.

It was a beautiful day and I imagined that I would be digging lots of oldies. So I got to my spot and found a nice little area that looked pretty old and had a picnic groove. People used to camp here in the early 1900's so I knew there were oldies to be found. I swung my detector one and got a signal, dug it, and out popped a penny cache. This time it had been full of wheaties and indians! I was so astonished that I hopped up and down for joy (it's my signature move). I went awhile and got nothing but trash and regular zinc pennies. As I was swinging my detector I grumbled on a bit about how all the spots are becomming hunted out and hard to recover items. Well at the end of the day I was beginning to get frustarated and about to put down my E-trac.