Can anyone tell me if this looks like silver I found it on the Treasure Coast in Fla.

Dbwbroker

May 6, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have looked at some pictures online and this may be titanium, some say they have found pieces of the space shuttle challenger while searching on the beach. I found this under the sand still in the surf. I found it between waves. I put my foot over the spot until i could dig it out. I am new to metal detecting.
Thanks for your help! IMAG0179.jpg

Upvote 0

NolanTheExplorer

May 11, 2011
Virginia
Detector(s) used
AT Pro, AT Max, ProPointer, Ace 250, GTA 1250, Radio Shack Bounty Hunter, Eye Balls, Intuition, Instinct.
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
two big questions...
did it shine like a silver coin when you dug it? if it came out of the ground like a coin it is not likely silver. if you had to wire brush it to look like that then it probably is silver......
can you bend it? if you can its not silver. if you cant bend it then its probably silver.....

Giant056

Silver Member
Jun 10, 2007
Southwest Michigan
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Made in U.S.A.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It sure looks like silver. I would heat it up put it in cold water, if it instantly tarnishes it might be silver. Spit on a piece of tinfoil and wrap it in in the tinfoil after its tarnished,
if it gives off a rotten egg smell I'd say its silver

jewelerguy

Gold Member
Jun 28, 2011
Oklahoma
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
White's XLT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Spit on a piece of tinfoil and wrap it in in the tinfoil after its tarnished, if it gives off a rotten egg smell I'd say its silver

just don't eat rotten eggs right before the spit test or you may get a false reading :laughing7:

OP
OP
D

Dbwbroker

May 6, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting