1911 liberty nickel

ch Penn

Aug 29, 2012
Hello everyone,
I'm new to metal detecting. Four month ago I borrowed a cheep metal detector from my mother(don't know what kind but cheep). I went out in my back yard and found an old pocket knife. I then went online and found it was made somewhere between 1860 and 1890 (don't know if source is creditable). I was hooked. I couldn't quit thinking about who had that knife or how it got there. I also wanted to know what else might be in my yard. One month later I went out and bought an etrac. For about three months now I've been out metal detecting almost everyday. At first it was fun finding clad because I was learning my machine along with getting a little gas money back. I haven't been able to find any good old spots to metal detect and I'm tired of clad so I haven't had the metal detector out much in the last week. Yesterday I hit a field I've been thinking about for awhile and this liberty nickel is the only coin that I found. I'm sure glad it
wasn't clad. I can't wait to get out again.

Attachments

• image-454307059.jpg
    image-454307059.jpg
    38.8 KB · Views: 176
  • image-620192679.jpg
    image-620192679.jpg
    32.9 KB · Views: 185
Upvote 0

jewelerguy

Gold Member
Jun 28, 2011
Oklahoma
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
White's XLT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
great finds. I love V-nicks and that knife is cool :icon_thumleft:

silversurfer1111

Jul 14, 2012
Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
GARRET AT PRO ..Whites Classic SL. . modified 9 Function Metal Detector from Harbor Freight tools
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
you finds . i want that nickle lol. its on my to dig list HH

Nooberz

Nov 16, 2010
Ohio
Detector(s) used
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Good looking V nickel.

Chuck In Oregon

Jun 16, 2004
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Detector(s) used
AT Pro, CZ-20, Pro-Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting