Newbie Here! SILVER,Indian Head,Some misc relics! Please read and respond for a newb!

HugeSeng

Sep 15, 2012
southwest va
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello all! My name is John and im 16 years old and I live in the southweat VA region. :hello: !!! My metal detector may not be fancy and may of only cost 200$ but I still enjoy the hobby even if I might only find one relic shallow enough to pick up. lol. So today is the only day ive ever had worth posting and I figured id signup and post insted of just reading everyone elses posts :P. Went to a home owned by my sister today. Was built in 1930 and is in a neighborhood of many older homes. On the second hole I found a 1941 S mercury dime!!!!!! Im so excited. My first ever silver coin! I about had a heart attack. May not be much to some people but it means a ton to me. Also found a cool old key that says Chicago Key Co. chicago il and has a serial number,57 wheatie, and the usual junk. Also hunted behind my grandmothers. There used to be a 1800s home on the property but mygrandfather had moved tons of dirt so you just find relics scattered everywhere. Found a toasted 1800s indian. cant make out a date but I think I see a 18. also found 2 brass pieces that remind me of something youd find on a saddle. maybe someone can give me some info on these. found a shoe lace ring, harmonica reed,and a really awesome fish,frog gigger? idk what it is! but it was definately meant to stick in something and not come out because it is barbed at the top. Found it in a dry creekbed by the house. It was under a rock so I think it protected it from extreme corrosion like many other pieces of iron ive found in this area. maybe one of you may be able to tell me some more info on this thing. give some opinions. thanks yall! please respond for a newb! id appreciate it! :D

Attachments

• merc back.jpg
    merc back.jpg
    408.2 KB · Views: 132
  • merc front.jpg
    merc front.jpg
    311.6 KB · Views: 114
  • misc junk relics.jpg