Found this coin yesterday, no idea what it is...

b0v13

Greenie
Oct 9, 2012
Baltimore, MD
Detector(s) used
garrett at pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to metal detecting and found this coin yesterday (5th time out) about 8-10 inches down. I'm having a hard time cleaning it or what's left of it. Had it in peroxide overnight and it's still a mess. I know nothing about coins and was hoping one of you might know what it is? I believe it's made of copper. These are the best photos I'm getting with my phone (not the best macro) and will reshoot it later if someone out there thinks it will help. There's a bust on the front facing to the left and nothing identifiable on the back. Any tips for further cleaning the crud off of it would be appreciated also. THANKS!! ~b.

Attachments

• coin - dirty 1.jpg
    coin - dirty 1.jpg
    36.6 KB · Views: 149
  • coin - dirty 2.jpg
    coin - dirty 2.jpg
    34.3 KB · Views: 152
  • coin - face.jpg
    coin - face.jpg
    31.7 KB · Views: 151
  • coin - back.jpg
    coin - back.jpg
    37 KB · Views: 154
  • coin - size.jpg
    coin - size.jpg
    20.3 KB · Views: 149
Upvote 4

oxbowbarefoot

Banned
May 25, 2011
🥇 Banner finds
Primary Interest:
Other
Looks like a King George Copper! Nice find, welcome to the 1700's!

oxbowbarefoot

Banned
May 25, 2011
🥇 Banner finds
Primary Interest:
Other
Could be a CT or other state copper too, I'm not the expert. Que Iron Patch :)

R.Ezell

Greenie
Oct 7, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Yeah, it looks like a George II Copper. Great find.

MrSchulz

Bronze Member
Mar 29, 2012
DeWitt, Iowa
Detector(s) used
Ace 250, Bounty Hunter Tracker IV, Custom Recovery tools, Nupla Prb4t Soil Probe 60 IN,
Primary Interest:
Other
Looks 1700's to me... Could be one of the State Coppers or a King George, but let the other experts determine that.

hogge

Silver Member
Mar 13, 2008
Pittsfield Ma.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Teknetics T-2SE--Whites Prism IV
Primary Interest: