I think Im finally getting the hang of cornfields.

WHADIFIND

Gold Member
Apr 9, 2012
South of the Mason-Dixon Line
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT-MAX
Garrett AT-PRO,
Garrett Groundhog,
Pro-Pointer,

Jack Hammer!
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I think I'm finally getting the hang of cornfields.

As those who have followed know, I have quite a bit of experience in this hobby. But, when it comes to hunting corn stubble fields, I am a veritable newbie! :)

Since the weather warmed a bit today, I couldn't resist getting in a quick wander. Got about 3 hours before the weather reasserted itself. Still not a lot of items but a very interesting AND rewarding day! Bottom line, I got out!!! :)

Here's the take:

IMGA2685.JPG
IMGA2686.JPG
IMGA2687.JPG
IMGA2688.JPG
IMGA2689.JPG
IMGA2690.JPG
IMGA2691.JPG
IMGA2692.JPG
IMGA2694.JPG

I'm guessing those last three are of a shotgun slug? There are some letters there, just can't make them out. :dontknow:

IMGA2696.JPG

Plow blade?

IMGA2705.JPG IMGA2706.JPG

This is a bit fatter than expected. I can barely make out a shield up top and possibly the words one cent. So, I'm thinking an IH "fatty". Afraid I don't think it'll clean well. Pretty toasted. But, I'll try.

IMGA2707.JPG IMGA2708.JPG

BOY! I don't find very many nails with this AT-Pro but when it finds one it doesn't fool around! LOL

And, lastly, for me the most interesting find of all my cornfield experience. (all couple months of it. :) )

I found this thing that made me say my name over and over today.

WHADIFIND!?!?

IMGA2711.JPG
IMGA2712.JPG
IMGA2713.JPG
IMGA2714.JPG
IMGA2715.JPG
IMGA2717.JPG
IMGA2718.JPG

It appears to be brass/bronze for the most part. It's pretty heavy and substantially made. The only magnetic parts are the iron rust.

Feel free to offer any help you can.

Oh yeah! There is one more clue in addition to the possible decorative lines on the sides.

IMGA2716.JPG

Maybe, Thomas uhhhhhhh Fred-isson? ;)