Greenwich CT
Detector(s) used
Whites VX3 W/ standard 950 coil but waiting on my new 10" D2
White's M6- regular coil plus 6X9 shooter
White's Classic III W/ BlueMax 950 coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi there,
It’s nice to report that I had quite the successful weekend! My hunts started at around 3PM and ended at about 6ish for both days which give you an idea of what might be lying in wait for me. I was using my VX3 with its standard 950 (my new D2 10" is in the mail for Thursday) and most of the finds were very shallow and mostly clad, the Kennedy was found at only 2 ½ inches! After a day of clad and a nice looking track medal, I attempted to get up higher and check out the more inland sites of the park on my second day. After coming across something resembling a grape shot cannon ball (the big rusty blob in the picture, weights about 5 pounds or more) I found myself in the middle of a foundation. Now although I’m a newbie (Though, in my defense I have been going out at least 5 times a week since Jan 31st) I know that foundations are KEY and this one was in a spot that was older than almost any sites in the area. After about three clads, I found my best find to date! A 1774 (correct me if I’m wrong, I will take a photo of the back although it’s almost entirely worn off) ½ or 2 Colonial Reale! Man that was something to dig up! Amazingly enough, as cruddy as the shape is, you can actually make out the date and the mint mark on the back (well, part of it) which shows an M, apparently minted in Mexico. Any who check out the pictures and let me know what you guys think! I would never sell the Reale (not that most are worth a huge amount) but just knowing that I found an object only a few months away from the Boston tea party makes me all the more hooked!
Thanks,
BF
IMG_0504.JPG (2).JPG IMG_0508.JPG (2).JPG

Upvote 8

Erik in NJ

Silver Member
Oct 4, 2010
The Garden State
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE Pro & CTX-3030
Primary Interest: