MY First find of the year

R

regij

well i got a copy of a howto book on MDing. folowed the advice and came up with some interesting finds.... ::)

my fist find was 2 horse syringes a old brown bottle full of horse immunization medicine of some sort, a rusted old bridle and 2 horse shoes and some kind of leather punch i think. a few yards away in another hole was a leather pouch that just fell apart when i tried to get it out of the ground. In the midst of it's remains were a handfull of coins fused together. I can't tell what they are yet but waybe after i wash them.

They're all in this clump of green white and black but you can tell they're coins. Any cleaning idea's?

Upvote 0
B

Big Diggin

I'm by far not the best person to answer this question cause I'm still learning myself.

I'm still experimenting with cleaning coins and other finds.

I've heard everything from soaking in Olive Oil to dipping them in microwave heated Hydrogen Peroxide.

Wait until you hear from other members before you clean them. The members here at TN are always very helpful.

Congrats on your first finds & Happy Huntin.

goldencoin

Gold Member
Sep 27, 2005
Indiana
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX & Beach Hunter ID
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Excellent...i wouldn't try olive oil, reather hydrogen peroxide (can be found at walmart) or a mixture of salt and vinigar...oilive oil will often leak out and make a mess of everying

HH
-GC

Moonshadow

Silver Member
Sep 25, 2004
Aiken, SC
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
I wouldn't clean them right away until you know what they are. If there are really crusty and stuck together, I would just put them in some hot sudsy water for a bit and see if you can loosen them apart. Sounds like they may be old. Can't wait to see what they are!

HH,
Moon

Night Stalker

Bronze Member
Dec 17, 2004
Florida
Detector(s) used
Omega 8000 & Tesoro Cortes
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting